Writing from the road

Thursday, May 12/11

Due to poor internet and timing, now is the first chance I’ve had in a couple days to actually post my blog entry online, but I may not get this posted until later. West of Nipigon, the roads that I’ll be riding on in the future looked better—more paved shoulders. Thunder Bay to Dryden still
has its share of sketchiness for cyclists. However, my anxiety was reduced when I learned that from the Manitoba-Ontario border to Dryden, Ontario (a couple hundred kilometres), there’s a wide, smooth, paved shoulder. Any cyclists reading this blog and planning such a trip in the future will appreciate knowing this fact.

So now on the drive out west, I’m in an RV park south of Winnipeg—this is the first night we haven’t stopped in a Walmart parking lot. On a side note, I have to say the person at Walmart who decided that RVs should
be able to park for free in any Walmart parking lot should be viewed by the company’s shareholders as a saint. I have shopped at Walmart probably three times in the last 10 years. Our RV has graced Walmart parking lots twice in the last 2 days. In the last two days I have bought supplies from Walmart twice. Walmart is 2 for 2.

Anyhow, there’s some question as to whether or not we’ll be able to make it to B.C. in time as we planned due to flooding of Southern Manitoba west of Winnipeg. There is some speculation as to whether dikes holding back water will be cut to save homes and farmland,  and if so, will  the Trans Canada be flooded. Hopefully we can make it through ok tomorrow, and everything will go as planned. However, a local warned us that flooding could interfere with my route even when I come through in June, since this is one of the worst prairie floods on record.

Leave a Reply

