Day 11 – Sicamous to Canyon Hot Springs, B.C. – 105km

The threat of thundershowers never materialized—so far it’s been a gorgeous day. I got on the road early this morning because I was expecting a thundershower at some point today. Although the thunder never came, I’m glad I got on the road when I did. The morning light on the mountains made it worth leaving bed early. I can say with certainty that I am in the mountains again. There were lots of rushing streams, which I would have loved to have spent a day lounging by. Whenever there was a bridge, the paved shoulder ended. The bridges were only as wide as two lanes exactly—if two over-sized vehicles travelling opposite directions met each other at exactly the point of one of these bridges, bad news would happen. I had to stop, wait until I saw no cars, and then cycle as quickly as I could across these bridges. Today was mostly gradual and manageable climbing with a few quick descents. I’m actually starting to get frustrated when I descend. “No! I don’t want to go down now! I’ll just have to go back up. Can’t I please just keep the altitude I gained?” That’s not how the mountains work. You go up, you go down, and then you go up a little further than before. For the most part, the Trans-Canada Highway follows the river valleys through the Rockies, which means the road is slowly climbing until Banff. The road usually isn’t at the bottom of the valley. Typically it is cut into the grade of a mountain  bordering the valley. There are lakes, rivers, gorges, railroads, cliffs and sometimes no valley. Frequently, the highway climbs the side of a mountain to go to a flatter part of the mountain, or because it simply must go higher to pass an obstacle. The cycling is slow, but that is compensated by the spectacular scenery.

About 20km east of Revelstoke

We don’t have any events or press scheduled for the next couple of days, so it will be nice to get into a nice relaxed rhythm—although it may be a bit boring in comparison to the bustling days we’ve had in the last week. In less than a week, I’ll be presenting with Gail via Skype to the Breaking the ICE Conference back east, so I’ll be preparing for that.

Right now my mind is failing me (don’t get too concerned), so I think it’s time for a pre-dinner nap. I haven’t rested since I got off my bike, and that was several hours ago. I got some more helmet cam video today…still waiting for some fast Wi-Fi. Today was a short post, but I assure you there’s more to come.

-Skye

One thought on “Day 11 – Sicamous to Canyon Hot Springs, B.C. – 105km

Leave a Reply

