Day 58 – Oromocto to Shediac, NB – 188km

I wasn’t looking forward to this day. There was a long distance. There were lots of hills. Headwinds were in the forecast. All of these turned out to be realities. I was on the Trans Canada so I had a nice wide paved shoulder the whole day, which really does help. When I ride on a road with a narrow bumpy shoulder or no shoulder, I have to be intensely concentrated. When I have 2 metres of smooth pavement, it’s a much more relaxed ride, and my mind can wander to help pass time.

My goal for today was to reach the Atlantic Ocean. That excitement was my drive for the day. I only stopped to meet the support vehicle once today, at the half-way point. Earlier in the trip, I liked meeting the support vehicle every hour or two. I accepted that I had a long way to go, and there was no point in rushing. At this point in my trip, I’m tired. I’m not tired as in, “my legs are sore,” or “my mind isn’t functioning.” I’m tired as in “I don’t feel like getting up. I just want to sit here.” I’m feeling worn out. If I stop to refill my water bottles at the support vehicle, and I sit down, it turns into a half-hour rest. I’m filling up 4 water bottles at a time (2 on the bike, 2 in my jersey’s pouches) and packing lots of nuts and jerky so I can drink and eat without stopping. It’s not hard to stay on the bike. It’s hard to get myself on the bike.

Today was pretty much all bikes—not much else happened. To be precise, other than sleeping, eating, washroom, talking to my mom, and killing a few mosquitoes, nothing happened. I feel like I should be celebrating (making it to the Atlantic), but I don’t feel in the mood at all. I know that I have about 1,500km left to go. I also feel like something is missing—the rest of my family. I was really hoping that my brother and my dad would make it to the Atlantic with me. We tried. I suppose it’s a good thing they turned around. On their way back to Toronto, the van had some mechanical issues which would be very difficult to deal with had they occurred out here in the Maritimes…far away from our trusted garage.

-Skye

One thought on “Day 58 – Oromocto to Shediac, NB – 188km

  1. Its ‘Dad’ here – with a brief addition to the Family Van issues. As you noted Skye, our family van did have some issues returning to Toronto. It was the beginning of the heat wave and our AC was fried by Belleville. We spent the last couple of hours roaring down the 401 windows wide open and trying to listen to Nina Simone. It was also burning oil, don’t know why.
    But my biggest van fear, and I am sure that anyone who is reliant on their personal seating system will attest to, is breaking down and needing to be towed when the person requiring the wheelchair (and CANNOT seat in any other chair) is in the vehicle. The issue is simple. 1) No-one can be in the vehicle while it is being towed. 2) the wheelchair user physically cannot get into a tow truck. 3) out in the country you cannot conveniently call for a wheelchair accessible taxi. It means that breaking down outside the metro area is something that simply cannot happen.
    As the vehicle ages, more ‘stuff’ happens, and even though one tries to be as preventative as possible, the unpredictability factor increases. With close to 170k on the meter, you can understand my trepidation about Kerr, Mia and I joining the trip.
    Anyway – we did make it back OK, and much as I would also have liked to continue on, our decision to return when we did was definitely a good one, and as Skye says, we will follow the rest of the journey vicariously from our computer!

Leave a Reply

